World Risk and Insurance Economics Congress
2005 Salt Lake City w 2010 Singapore w 2015 Europe

Jointly Organized by:
Asia-Pacific Risk and Insurance Association
American Risk and Insurance Association
European Group of Risk and Insurance Economists
The Geneva Association


The World Risk and Insurance Economics Congress (the "World Congress") stimulates corporate awareness and interest in risk-related research and provides a forum -- a joint conference once in every five years -- for networking among academics and industry and government professionals worldwide. The World Congress is open to "all persons" who share an interest in promoting education and research in the broad areas of risk and insurance. Except for their interest in the conference, preferably in the form of presenting a paper, no criteria are established for participant qualifications.

The Asia-Pacific Risk and Insurance Association (APRIA), the American Risk and Insurance Association (ARIA), European Group of Risk and Insurance Economists (EGRIE), and The Geneva Association jointly organize the meetings. Visit About Us for more information about the history and the current status of the World Congress.

  • 2005 Inaugural World Congress at Salt Lake City, US, hosted by ARIA (Secretariat: The Institutes, US)
  • 2010 Second World Congress at Singapore, hosted by APRIA (Secretariat: Singapore College of Insurance)
    --> Click here for the unofficial Proceedings by The Geneva Association.
  • 2015 Third World Congress in Europe to be hosted by EGRIE (Secretariat: TBA)

We continue to make available "2010 Programs" and "Related Links" (for annual conference and journal information in risk and insurance). Until we are ready to offer information about the 2015 meeting, the "Registration" page is closed.
For more information, e-mail your inquiry to W. Jean Kwon.


2010 Corporate Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors



Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors

Singapore Management University

Silver Workers Institute

The Applied Services Economic Centre


2010 Academic Institution Sponsors

Illinois State University
Katie School of Insurance & Financial Services

Casualty Actuarial Society
Georgia State University
  • American Institute for CPCU/IIA

  • Ball State University

  • Baylor University

  • Colorado State University

  • Florida State University

  • Gamma Iota Sigma

  • Griffith Insurance Education Foundation and Institute

  • Indiana State University (Scott College of Business, the Gongaware Center, Networks Financial Institute)

  • Insurance Information Institute

  • Insurance Institute of Canada

  • Laval University

  • Munich Risk and Insurance Center (MRIC)

  • National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)

  • National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC)

  • National Chengchi University

  • St. John's University (the School of Risk Management)

  • St. Mary's University

  • Temple University

  • University of Alabama

  • University of Calgary

  • University of Georgia

  • University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

  • University of Lousiana - Lafayette

  • The University of Mississippi

  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte

  • University of Texas at Austin - Wortham Chair

  • University of Wisconsin - Madison

  • Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Washington State University


Volunters for 2010 World Congress 

Organization Committee:
     The Geneva Association
Michael Sherris, W. Jean Kwon
Gene Lai, Vickie Bajtelsmit
Pierre Picard, Achim Wambach
Patrick Liedtke, Christophe Courbag
Scientific Committees:
     APRIA Hunsoo Brian Kim (Chair), Sankarshan Basu, Richard Derrig, Soga Ewedemi, Jing Ai, Benjamin Avanzi, Thitivadee Chaiyawat, Renbao Chen, Larry Tzeng, Mahito Okura, Mariko Nakabayashi, Qixiang Sun, Wei Zheng, Bum J. Kim, Soon-Jae Lee
     ARIA David Sommer (Chair), Kathleen McCullough, Steven Pottier, Faith Neale, Paul Thistle, Martin Boyer, Anne Kleffner, Andre Liebenberg, Cassandra Cole, Jennifer Wang, Sharon Tennyson, Xiaoying Xie, Andreas Richter, Thomas Berry-Stoelzle
     EGRIE Louis Eeckhoudt (Chair), Peter Zweifel, David Crainich, Nadine Gatzert, Mercedes Ayuso

World Risk and Insurance Economics Congress


[Last update on January 24, 2012]
System Administrator